Skip to content.

Carbon Pricing Matters: Federal Fuel Charge Now in Effect in Four Backstop Provinces

The federal fuel charge came in force on April 1, 2019. This charge on fossil fuels now applies to fuels that are consumed in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and New Brunswick, the four provinces that do not have a provincial system in place which meets federal carbon pricing requirements. It will come into effect on July 1, 2019 in the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut. Proceeds of the fuel charge will be returned by the federal government to residents in the backstop jurisdictions in the form of Climate Action Incentive payments.


For more details, please see our previous blog posts: Moving Forward: Carbon Taxes and Rebates and Targeting Further Areas for Relief: Federal Government Proposes Refinements to its Carbon Pricing Backstop System



Stay Connected

Get the latest posts from this blog

Please enter a valid email address