Skip to content.

Waste Connections Inc. acquires energy waste treatment and disposal facilities from Secure Energy Services Inc. for C$1.075B

Date Closed

February 1, 2024

Lead Office



1.08 Billion CAD

On February 1, 2024, Waste Connections Inc. ("Waste Connections") announced that its subsidiary, R360 Environmental Solutions Canada Inc. has closed the acquisition of 30 energy waste treatment and disposal facilities from Secure Energy Services Inc. ("Secure Energy") for C$1.075 billion. Waste Connections of Canada Inc. had entered into an agreement on December 11, 2023 with Secure Energy to acquire the assets, and the transaction received Canadian Competition Bureau approval on January 30, 2024. The portfolio of 30 assets includes 18 treatment, recovery and disposal facilities; 6 landfills; 4 saltwater disposal injection wells; and 2 disposal caverns.

Waste Connections, based in The Woodlands, Texas,  is an integrated solid waste services company that provides non-hazardous waste collection, transfer and disposal services, including by rail, along with resource recovery primarily through recycling and renewable fuels generation.

Secure Energy, headquartered in Calgary, Alberta, owns and operates an environmental and energy infrastructure that includes waste processing and transfer facilities, industrial landfills, metal recycling facilities, crude oil and water gathering pipelines, crude oil terminals and storage facilities.

McCarthy Tétrault advised Waste Connections with a team led by Michael Caldecott, Alyson Goldman and Thomas McInerney that included Erin Keogh, Lucinda Chitapain, Samantha Steeves (Competition/Antitrust & Foreign Investment), Kimberly Howard, Kiana Mozaffari, Matthew Hooker, Derek Baker, Kaelyn Macaulay, Lindsay Nguyen, Riley Thackray, Michele Zinsli Ma, Ann Walker, Trena Gallant, Isabel Gonzales, Rebecca Thomas, Emily Bawtinheimer, Kelly Doran, Denise Roldan (Business), Daphne Rodzinyak (Environmental, Regulatory & Aboriginal), Susan Nickerson, Julia Miller (Pensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation), Jacob Che, Amanda Robertson, Stephen Carbonaro (Financial Services), Jade Buchanan (Technology), Lyndsey Delamont (Litigation), Amy Fong (Intellectual Property), Elizabeth Rafferty, Luke Madill, Will Fraser, Liezl Dreijer, Alison Walker, Donna Dulaba (Real Property & Planning), Brett Anderson, Kassandra Grenier, Jeremy Ho, Randy Schwartz, Etienne Laplante, Hubert Cadotte, Kalev Tamm, Sara Baxter (Tax), Justin Turc and Chris Boettcher (Labour & Employment).