Skip to content.

DATA Communications Management Corp. acquires Canadian operations of R.R. Donnelley & Sons

Date Closed

April 24, 2023

Lead Office



130.80 Million CAD

On April 25, 2023, DATA Communications Management Corp. (“DCM”), a leading provider of marketing and business communication solutions, announced that is has closed its previously announced share purchase agreement (the “Purchase Agreement”) to acquire the Canadian operations of R.R. Donnelley & Sons (“RRD”) for a total cash purchase price of C$130.8 million (subject to working capital and other customary post-closing adjustments).

Under the terms of the Share Purchase Agreement between DCM and RRD, DCM acquire dall the issued shares of Moore Canada Corporation (RRD Canada) ("RRD Canada"), a wholly owned subsidiary of RRD. The Share Purchase Agreement contains various representations, warranties, covenants, indemnities and customary closing conditions. With the completion of the acquisition, Moore Canada Corporation, the RRD Canada legal entity, became a wholly-owned subsidiary of DATA Communications Management Corp. The acquisition was funded through an amended revolving credit facility from a Canadian chartered bank, which now provides for up to $90 million of revolving credit capacity; a $30 million floating rate bridge facility from the bank; and a new $50 million fixed rate credit facility from Fiera Private Debt.

DCM, based in Brampton, is a communication solutions partner that helps its clients and agencies deploy unified marketing campaigns across multiple channels.

McCarthy Tétrault is assisting DCM with a team led by Jonathan Grant and Aathmika Kularatnam that includes Victoria de Luna, Mitchell Lui, Adil Akbar, Dan Schechner (Business Law); Jamie Orzech, Jessie Bachinsky, Robert Di Battista, Rafaella Arapovic, Luke Madill (Real Property and Planning); Trevor Lawson, Nicole Naglie (Labour and Employment); Deron Waldock, Julia Miller (Pensions and Benefits); Jason Gudofsky, Gideon Kwinter, Alykhan Rahim (Competition); Gordon Baird, Nicole Shapero (Financial Services); Joanna Rosengarten, Amelia Fong (Environmental); Vincent Yip (Intellectual Property); Conrad Lee, Jacob Robinson (Technology); Robert Glasgow (International Trade); Shauvik Shah (Anti-Money Laundering); Patrick McCay, Simon Douville and Kathryn Walker (Tax).