Skip to content.

The Prime Minister unveils Canada’s new Cabinet – here’s what you need to know

On November 20, 2019, Prime Minister Trudeau unveiled the members of Canada’s Cabinet for his second term in office, this time with a minority government.

While 8 ministers have remained in their previous roles, 21 ministers have been have moved to new portfolios within Cabinet and 7 ministers are new to Cabinet altogether. The Government of Canada’s Cabinet has grown from 34 to 36 ministers, and continues to include an equal number of men and women.

High-Profile Moves

The most high-profile change is Chrystia Freeland’s ascent from Minister of Foreign Affairs to the role of Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs. Taking her position as the Minister of Global Affairs is François-Philippe Champagne, a former Minister of International Trade and Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

After Ralph Goodale lost his seat as the only Liberal elected in Saskatchewan, Bill Blair has taken over his role as the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness. One of five Ministers from west of Ontario is Jonathan Wilkinson, the newly appointed Minister of Environment and Climate Change. The Minister of Infrastructure and Communities is Catherine McKenna, who was moved from her previous portfolio as the Minister of Environment and Climate Change. In the context of a minority government, the appointment of Pablo Rodriguez as the government house leader is also noteworthy.

Ministers who remained in their existing high-profile roles include the Minister of Finance, Bill Morneau, the Minister of Justice and the Attorney General, David Lametti, and the Minister of Transport, Marc Garneau.

The Ministry

In addition to Prime Minister Trudeau, the Government of Canada’s Cabinet is now comprised of:

  • Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs – Chrystia Freeland
  • Minister of Finance – Bill Morneau
  • Minister of Global Affairs – François-Philippe Champagne
  • Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada – David Lametti
  • Minister of Treasury Board – Jean-Yves Duclos
  • Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness – Bill Blair
  • Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry – Navdeep Bains
  • Minister of Infrastructure and Communities – Catherine McKenna
  • Minister of Environment and Climate Change – Jonathan Wilkinson
  • Minister of Transport – Marc Garneau
  • Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations – Carolyn Bennett
  • Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages – Mélanie Joly
  • Minister of Indigenous Services – Marc Miller
  • Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade – Mary Ng
  • Minister of Agriculture and Agrifood – Marie-Claude Bibeau
  • Minister of Natural Resources – Seamus O’Regan
  • Minister of Families, Children and Social Development – Ahmed Hussen
  • Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism – Steven Guilbeault
  • Minister of Health – Patty Hajdu
  • Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard – Bernadette Jordan
  • Minister of Public Services and Procurement – Anita Anand
  • Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship – Marco Mendicino
  • Minister of Labour – Filomena Tassi
  • Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion - Carla Qualtrough
  • Minister of National Defence - Harjit Sajjan
  • Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance – Mona Fortier
  • Minister of Digital Government – Joyce Murray
  • Minister of Veterans Affairs - Lawrence MacAulay
  • Minister of International Development – Karina Gould
  • Minister of Minister of Women, Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development – Maryam Monsef
  • Minister of National Revenue – Diane Lebouthillier
  • Minister of Seniors – Deborah Schulte
  • Minister of Northern Affairs – Dan Vandal
  • Minister of Diversity, Inclusion and Youth – Bardish Chagger
  • Leader of the Government in the House of Commons – Pablo Rodriguez
  • President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada – Dominic LeBlanc


We Can Help

Our team at McCarthy Tétrault has experience navigating the legal and regulatory uncertainties that can result from a Cabinet shuffle and other shifts in government.

If you would like more information about the Cabinet shuffle and its potential impact on your business, we can help. Please contact Awi Sinha, Adam Goldenberg, Claire Seaborn or Will Horne with any questions or for assistance.

Related content: click here for our series of blog posts on the recent federal election.