Ontario’s Premier Just Announced a Cabinet Shuffle – Here’s What You Need to Know

On June 20, 2019, Ontario Premier Doug Ford announced a major cabinet shuffle, which comes just under a year into the tenure of his Progressive Conservative government.

Some of Premier Ford’s most senior cabinet ministers have been moved into new portfolios, including former Finance Minister Vic Fedeli, who has been reassigned as Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade. Other changes among the senior ranks include Lisa Thompson, who has been moved from Education to Government and Consumer Services, Lisa MacLeod, who moves from Children, Community and Social Services to Tourism, Culture and Sport, and Caroline Mulroney, who has been reassigned from her role as the Attorney General to Transportation and Francophone Affairs.

The Shuffle

All but seven ministers will have new roles, and the cabinet will grow from 21 to 28 ministers and associate ministers.

The new Ontario cabinet will be as follows:

  • Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs - Doug Ford
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Health - Christine Elliott
  • Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions - Michael Tibollo
  • Minister of Long-Term Care - Merrilee Fullerton
  • Minister of Finance - Rod Phillips
  • Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade and Chair of Cabinet - Vic Fedeli
  • Associate Minister of Small Business and Red Tape Reduction - Prabmeet Sarkaria
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing - Steve Clark
  • Solicitor General - Sylvia Jones
  • Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks - Jeff Yurek
  • Minister of Children, Community and Social Services - Todd Smith
  • Associate Minister of Children and Women's Issues - Jill Dunlop
  • Minister of Labour - Monte McNaughton
  • Attorney General - Doug Downey
  • Minister of Transportation and Minister of Francophone Affairs - Caroline Mulroney
  • Associate Minister of Transportation (GTA) - Kinga Surma
  • Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities - Ross Romano
  • Minister of Education - Stephen Lecce
  • President of the Treasury Board - Peter Bethlenfalvy
  • Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry - John Yakabuski
  • Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs - Greg Rickford
  • Associate Minister of Energy - Bill Walker
  • Minister for Seniors and Accessibility - Raymond Cho
  • Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs - Ernie Hardeman
  • Minister of Infrastructure - Laurie Scott
  • Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport - Lisa MacLeod
  • Minister of Government and Consumer Services - Lisa Thompson
  • Government House Leader - Paul Calandra

The Bottom Line

New leadership in many of the provincial government’s portfolios – including in its most senior roles – may represent changes in tone and decision-making. Our team at McCarthy Tétrault has experience navigating the legal uncertainties that can result from shifts of this nature.

If you would like more information about the cabinet shuffle and its potential impact on your business, we can help. Please contact Awi Sinha, Adam Goldenberg, Will Horne, or Amanda Iarusso with any questions or for assistance.