Transactions et causes – détails



Détails

Bluesky Hotels and Resorts réalise l’acquisition de FPI InnVest pour 2,1 G$

DATE DE CLÔTURE

19 août 2016

SECTEUR D'ACTIVITÉ

Biens immobiliers et construction

BUREAU PRINCIPAL

Toronto

VALEUR

2,1 Milliard(s) CAD


APERÇU

Le 19 août 2016, Bluesky Hotels and Resorts a réalisé l’acquisition de Fonds de placement immobilier InnVest aux termes d’un plan d’arrangement conclu en vertu de la Business Corporations Act de l’Alberta, pour environ 2,1 milliards de dollars canadiens. Conformément à la transaction, Bluesky a acquis l’ensemble des parts émises et en circulation d’InnVest pour 7,25 $ en trésorerie par part et a racheté toutes les débentures convertibles série E à 6,00 %, série F à 5,75 % et série G à 6,25 %.

La transaction a été approuvée à l’unanimité par le conseil d’administration d’Innvest et a reçu l’appui inconditionnel de son équipe de direction. Elle a été conclue sous réserve des conditions habituelles, notamment l’approbation des porteurs de parts d’InnVest et les approbations des organismes de réglementation canadiens en vertu de la Loi sur Investissement Canada et de la Loi sur la concurrence.

Bluesky est une société fermée canadienne qui développe un portefeuille diversifié d’hôtels, de services d’accueil, d’actifs immobiliers et d’autres actifs à long terme. Compte tenu de son objectif qui est de privilégier les occasions d’améliorer la qualité de son portefeuille, Bluesky met l’accent sur la propriété et le développement des hôtels du portefeuille d’Innvest.

InnVest est un fonds de placement immobilier à capital variable non constitué en personne morale qui détient un portefeuille de 107 hôtels au Canada.

L’équipe de McCarthy Tétrault S.E.N.C.R.L./s.r.l., qui a agi à titre de conseiller juridique pour Bluesky, était composée de Graham Gow, Oliver Borgers, Robert Hansen, Patrick McCay, Jamie Orzech, Bobby Wang, Charlene Schafer, Heidi Gordon, Nicole Rumble, Na Fan et Suraj Rammohan.

Personne-ressource


 
Pour des renseignements généraux sur la base de données des transactions et des causes de McCarthy Tétrault, veuillez écrire à [email protected].

Champs de compétence connexes


La Chine
lire /

Hôtellerie et restauration
lire /

Fusions et acquisitions
lire /

Droit immobilier
lire /

Transactions & Cases Detail



Transaction/Case Details

Bluesky Hotels and Resorts completes $2.1B acquisition of InnVest REIT

DATE CLOSED

August 19, 2016

BUSINESS SECTOR

Real Property / Construction

LEAD OFFICE

Toronto

VALUE

2.1 Billion CAD


OVERVIEW

On August 19, 2016, Bluesky Hotels and Resorts completed its acquisition of InnVest Real Estate Investment Trust by way of a plan of arrangement under the Business Corporations Act (Alberta) for approximately C$2.1 billion. Pursuant to the transaction, Bluesky acquired all of the issued and outstanding units of InnVest for $7.25 in cash per unit and has redeemed all of the 6.00% Series E convertible debentures, the 5.75% Series F convertible debentures and the 6.25% Series G convertible debentures.

The transaction received the unanimous approval of the Board of Trustees of InnVest and gained the full support of InnVest's management team. Closing was subject to a number of customary conditions, including the approval of InnVest unitholders and Canadian regulatory approvals under the Investment Canada Act and the Competition Act.

Bluesky is a privately-held Canadian corporation, with an interest in developing a diversified asset portfolio of hotels, hospitality services, real-estate and other long-term holdings. Prioritizing opportunities to continually enhance its portfolio quality, Bluesky is focusing on the ownership and development of the hotels in the InnVest portfolio.

InnVest is an unincorporated open-ended real estate investment trust which owns a portfolio of 107 hotels across Canada.

McCarthy Tétrault LLP acted as legal counsel to Bluesky with a team including Graham Gow, Oliver Borgers, Robert Hansen, Patrick McCay, Jamie Orzech, Bobby Wang, Charlene Schafer, Heidi Gordon, Nicole Rumble, Na Fan and Suraj Rammohan.

Contact


 
For general information on McCarthy Tétrault Transactions & Cases, please contact [email protected].

Related Area of Expertise


China
read /

Hospitality
read /

M&A
read /

Real Estate
read /