Profil d'un avocat



Nancy J. Carroll

BUREAU

Toronto

TÉLÉPHONE

416-601-7733

ADRESSE ÉLECTRONIQUE

[email protected]

CARTE VIRTUELLE

FACULTÉ DE DROIT

Université de Toronto

ADMISSION AU BARREAU

Ontario, 1986




Biographie

Chinese Version

Nancy J. Carroll est associée au sein du groupe des services financiers à Toronto, leader de notre groupe national Assurance et réassurance et ancienne membre du conseil des associés de McCarthy Tétrault. Elle conseille des banques, des sociétés d’assurance, des institutions financières et des régimes de retraite sur des questions qui se rapportent à des opérations commerciales et à la réglementation. Elle se spécialise dans les domaines du droit bancaire, du droit des assurances, du droit des services financiers et de la réglementation.

Me Carroll conseille des banques internationales et des sociétés d’assurance relativement à l’établissement de leurs succursales au Canada. Elle possède une vaste expérience en représentation de banques et de régimes de retraite dans le cadre d’opérations de fusion et acquisition complexes. Elle conseille régulièrement des sociétés d’assurance nationales et internationales dans le cadre d’importantes opérations de fusion et acquisition, de réassurance, de transfert de blocs de polices, de démutualisation et de réorganisation d’entreprise ainsi que sur des questions en matière de concession de licence. En outre, elle conseille des banques, des sociétés d’assurance et d’autres institutions financières sur des questions de conformité et d’approbation réglementaires, de financement, d’impartition, de protection des renseignements personnels, de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, de conservation des documents et de commerce électronique. Me Carroll a agi à titre de conseillère juridique lors de la première démutualisation d’une grande société d’assurance-vie au Canada, La Mutuelle du Canada, compagnie d’assurance sur la vie.

Me Carroll est l’éditrice du guide Consolidated Insurance Companies Act of Canada, Regulations and Guidelines (édition de 2017), publié chez Thomson Reuters. Elle a également coécrit le chapitre canadien du livre Anti-Money Laundering International Law and Practice, paru chez John Wiley & Sons. De plus, elle a contribué à la rédaction d’un document de consultation publique sur la réforme du droit des assurances en Ontario. Elle a agi à titre de conseillère juridique auprès d’organismes de réglementation du secteur de l'assurance dans le cadre du Projet de révision des mesures législatives en matière d’assurances établi par le gouvernement de l’Ontario pour leur faire des recommandations précises concernant la modernisation de la législation provinciale sur l’assurance, et en tant que membre du Comité consultatif juridique (institutions de dépôt et sociétés d’assurances) de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario.

Me Carroll est citée comme une avocate de premier plan dans le domaine de la réglementation des institutions financières par la revue Lexpert. Elle a reçu la cote « BV® Distinguished » de ses pairs dans la publication Martindale Hubbell dans les catégories fusions, acquisitions et dessaisissements, droit bancaire et droit des sociétés. Elle est reconnue parmi les avocats de premier ordre dans le Guide to the World’s Leading Insurance and Reinsurance Lawyers, le répertoire The International Who’s Who of Insurance and Reinsurance Lawyers, le répertoire The International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers et le répertoire Who’s Who Legal: Canada. Son nom figure dans le guide Chambers Canada dans le domaine du droit de l’assurance (opérations et réglementation). Il se retrouve également dans le répertoire juridique World Leading Women in Business Law publié par Legal Media Group.

Me Carroll prononce des conférences et écrit régulièrement au sujet des questions de réglementation, de protection des renseignements personnels, de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et de commerce électronique touchant les banques, les sociétés d’assurance et d’autres institutions financières.

Me Carroll est titulaire d’un Juris Doctor (J.D.) de l’Université de Toronto, d’une maîtrise en politique internationale de l’Université Queen’s et d’un baccalauréat spécialisé (science politique et histoire) de l’Université Mount Allison. Elle a été admise au Barreau de l’Ontario en 1986.

Publications


Manchettes


Transactions et causes


Notre cabinet


 
McCarthy Tétrault assure la prestation de services intégrés en droit des affaires, en fiscalité, en droit immobilier, en litige et en droit du travail et de l’emploi à l’échelle nationale et mondiale par l’entremise de ses bureaux situés à Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montréal, Québec, ainsi qu'à New York et à Londres.
Lire

Lawyer Profile Detail



Nancy J. Carroll

TITLE

Partner

AREA OF EXPERTISE

China
Financial Services
Fintech
M&A
Privacy
Regulatory Advice

OFFICE

Toronto

DIRECT LINE

416-601-7733

E-MAIL

[email protected]

V-CARD

LAW SCHOOL

University of Toronto

BAR ADMISSION

Ontario, 1986




Biography

Chinese Version

Nancy J. Carroll is a partner in our Financial Services Group in Toronto, head of our National Insurance and Reinsurance Group and a former member of McCarthy Tétrault's governing Board of Partners. She advises banks, insurance companies, financial institutions and pension plans on transactions and regulatory matters. She has expertise in banking law, insurance law, financial services law and regulation.

Ms. Carroll acts for international banks and insurance companies on establishing their branch operations in Canada. Ms. Carroll has extensive experience representing banks and pension plans on complex mergers and acquisitions. She also acts regularly for domestic and international insurance companies on significant mergers and acquisitions, reinsurance transactions, transfers of blocks of business, demutualizations, corporate reorganizations, and licensing matters. She advises banks, insurance companies and other financial institutions on regulatory compliance, regulatory approvals, financing, outsourcing, privacy, anti-money laundering, document retention and e-commerce. Ms. Carroll acted as counsel on the first demutualization of a large life insurance company in Canada, The Mutual Life Assurance Company of Canada.

Ms. Carroll is the editor of Consolidated Insurance Companies Act of Canada, Regulations and Guidelines, 2017 Edition published by Thomson Reuters. She has co-authored the Canadian chapter of Anti-Money Laundering International Law and Practice, published by John Wiley & Sons. She has co-authored a public consultation paper on insurance law reform in Ontario. She acted as an advisor to insurance regulators, having served as a member of the Insurance Legislation Review Project established by the Ontario Government to make detailed recommendations for modern provincial insurance legislation and as a member of the Financial Services Commission Ontario Insurance and Deposit Institutions Legal Advisory Committee.

Ms. Carroll is listed in Lexpert as a leading lawyer in Financial Institutions Regulation. She has a Distinguished peer rating in Martindale Hubbell for Mergers, Acquisitions and Divestitures, Banking Law and Corporate Law. She is recognized as a leading lawyer in the Legal Media Group’s Guide to the World’s Leading Insurance and Reinsurance Lawyers, The International Who’s Who of Insurance and Reinsurance Lawyers, The International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers, and Who’s Who Legal: Canada. She is ranked in the current edition of Chambers Canada in the area of insurance: transactional & regulatory. Ms. Carroll has also been recognized in the Legal Media Group’s World Leading Women in Business Law Directory.

Ms. Carroll is a frequent writer and speaker on regulatory, privacy, anti-money laundering and e-commerce matters concerning banks, insurance companies and other financial institutions.

Ms. Carroll received her JD from the University of Toronto, her MA (International Politics) from Queen’s University, and her BA (Hons.) (Political Science and History) from Mount Allison University. She was called to the Ontario bar in 1986.

Publications


News


Transactions & Cases


Our Firm


 
McCarthy Tétrault delivers integrated business law, tax, real property, labour and employment, and litigation services nationally and globally through offices in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montréal, Québec City, as well as in New York City and London, UK.
Read