Expertise Detail



Public M&A

Canadian Securities Regulatory Monitor Blog  Canadian Securities Regulatory Monitor Blog

Canadian M&A Perspectives Blog  Canadian M&A Perspectives Blog

Whether you are a bidder, a target or a financial advisor involved in an M&A transaction, expert advice and innovative strategies are essential. These are precisely the skills we have acquired — and continuously upgrade — by handling hundreds of M&A deals year after year.

McCarthy Tétrault is home to some of the most talented M&A lawyers in Canada. Chambers Global consistently ranks us among the top M&A firms in the country.

When you choose us, you benefit from our:

  • Significant expertise in all aspects of M&A transactions — In addition to a wealth of M&A experience, we have one of the largest tax departments in Canada, as well as regulatory experts in all industries who facilitate structuring, due diligence, and regulatory review and compliance. We also advise on developing and implementing defensive strategies in hostile bid or proxy battle situations, assisted by our nationally and internationally recognized litigation group.
  • Strong national profile — We operate across Canada with truly integrated national teams, with offices in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montréal and Québec City.
  • International experience — We play a principal role in cross-border transactions through our offices across Canada and in London, UK. We also act for foreign bidders who wish to acquire Canadian targets.
  • Industry Expertise — Our lawyers are recognized leaders in several industries, notably financial services, power, technology, mining, and oil & gas. Our knowledge becomes your advantage when deciding whether to buy or sell a business in these industries.
  • Full-service teams — Clients respect our depth and service-oriented approach. We draw upon seasoned professionals at the top of their game within our firm in all areas essential to putting business structures together, including competition, tax, securities and litigation.


View a list of recent rankings for this area of expertise.
View a list of lawyers who practice in this area of expertise.

For more information, please contact:

LONDON, UK

Robert J. Brant
+44 (0)20 7786 5701
rbrant@mccarthy.ca
View profile

MONTRÉAL

Patrick Boucher
514-397-4237
pboucher@mccarthy.ca
View profile
Philippe Leclerc
514-397-7040
pleclerc@mccarthy.ca
View profile
Clemens Mayr
514-397-4258
cmayr@mccarthy.ca
View profile

QUÉBEC

Philippe Leclerc
418-521-3011
pleclerc@mccarthy.ca
View profile

TORONTO

Garth M. Girvan
416-601-7574
ggirvan@mccarthy.ca
View profile
Jonathan R. Grant
416-601-7604
jgrant@mccarthy.ca
View profile
David B. Tennant
416-601-7777
dtennant@mccarthy.ca
View profile
David E. Woollcombe
416-601-7555
dwoollcombe@mccarthy.ca
View profile

VANCOUVER

Richard Balfour
604-643-7915
rbalfour@mccarthy.ca
View profile

Search Expertise by Keyword


Blog Posts


Transactions & Cases


Publications


News